What is the most important thing you NEVER learned in school?


Charles McCrumb Small Business IT Project Analyst, Office Automation Expert Herbert, McCrumb & Associates

Charles McCrumb
Small Business IT Project Analyst, Office Automation Expert
Herbert, McCrumb & Associates

This post is purely for discussion. What is the most important thing NOT being taught in an academic environment? I would really love to hear your comments!

Cheers! 😎

Charles McCrumb, Office Automation Expert
Herbert, McCrumb & Associates
Visit us at http://www.hm-associates.com
Like us on Facebook for instant updates on what Herbert, McCrumb & Associates is doing, how we’re doing it, and how we’re saving real people time and money!
http://www.facebook.com/HerbertMcCrumbAssociates
email: charles@hm-associates.com
Skype: charles.mccrumb
Bus: (626) 593-6700

The Herbert, McCrumb & Associates Blog: Subscribe and get the HMA Blog directly in your email. http://hm-associates.com/BlogPage.html

2 thoughts on “What is the most important thing you NEVER learned in school?

  1. Too many to count! But, the one that affected me most (as a young man) and one I see affecting tons of young people (like my nephews, nieces, etc.) today is how to write, utilize and live within a BUDGET.

    I personally struggled with this when I was 19-20ish. Got married, racked up way more debt than we could handle and summarily went bankrupt. I learned my lessons and spent (over) 10 years rebuilding my credit (and paying for those financial sins) and yet I see the young people in my life making the same mistakes.

    I thought surely this is being taught in school now and they (all) said no (it wasn’t when I was in school, hence this post on your article). It’s possible it IS now being taught and perhaps they just aren’t paying attention so if that is the case I apologize to our school systems, but if it’s truly not – it (desperately) needs to be.

    Parents also have a duty here to pass on these basic skills (in addition to or in absence of) the school system. Just because it was not taught in schools doesn’t mean YOUR obligation to do so magically disappeared (my humble opinion).

    (If) we’re not imparting this information to our youth – we’re doing them a grave disservice. If you (personally) are, good job and kudos to you! The youth that follows you will have a leg up in the rat race called life!

  2. Lee, I think you need to start your own blog (if you haven’t already, that is)!
    What a great reply to a baited question!
    Kudos!
    I applaud your candor and honesty!
    For those interested, and for honesty on my own part, Lee is a part of the group of companies that I worked for several years ago. I met him personally,(what, twice?) and I like him (both as a friend and colleague, from days gone by, and into the future).
    Aside from all of that, folks…
    For those that have ears, LISTEN TO WHAT HE IS SAYING!!!
    This is (sort of) related to what I said in a recent previous post about not racking up $500,000 in student loan debt!

Leave a Reply

